I lied there, for the last time, and held your hand. I saw you crying, but I smiled.

To my favourite human out there,

How are you? I hope good. I know I didn’t do the right thing by leaving you out there, but believe me, I had to. I wish I didn’t, but I did, and ever since that the guilt has been eating me from inside, and hence, this letter is coming your way. I hope you like it, ‘cause if you don’t, I won’t be wagging my tail, metaphorically.

Anyway, it’s all good here. People are really nice. Feeding me good. Taking care of me. I found a lot of my people here as well. I hope, you find someone too. I wouldn’t like to see you getting lonely. You deserve the world, my friend, and I really hope you know that. I wish I could tell you more about this place, but I guess, that’s for you to come and visit. Won’t you come and visit me in the future? I hope you do. You know, I really miss kissing your hand, and seeing you smile when I do that. It’s more of a lick, but you anyhow smile, and that’s enough to make my day.

I remember when I fell ill, you would feed me with your own hands. I wouldn’t let anyone touch me, but you. You would come, feed me first, and then have your food. And that’s what made you, you. The most selfless being. Ever since you brought me home, you were the kindest person. You would cover me with the blanket at night when I was little, and I would sleep sound, knowing that there’s someone out there caring for me, and that was you. You know, you look so peaceful when you sleep, and I loved kissing you in the morning, with all of excitement. And you, in half sleep, would have your hand roam around my head, and smile. And that was best part about you. You were never irritated. Not even when I fell ill for the last time.

I was mess. My organs weren’t functioning properly, and I couldn’t eat. And I still remember the day, it happened. I was lying outside your room, when you came out, crying. Your father picked me up and set me in the car. I couldn’t even walk now. You wanted to come along, and you did. As we reached the place, the place I had grown to hate, the Veterinary hospital, I could see you crying. I wanted to tell you that it was okay, but I couldn’t even bark. Alas, that’s how life had gotten for me.

And there it was. I lied there, for the last time, and held your hand. I saw you crying, but I smiled. Probably the only time it happened, that I smiled, when you cried. I was getting rid of pain, and you, of my misery. As the syringe hit me, and I was transferred into a deep sleep, you were all I thought of, and still do.

Well, take care. I hope you find a new bestfriend. You will always be the best hooman I know, and what we shared, can’t be replicated.

Much love, licks, kisses, and wagging of tail,
Woof.

PS, you never taught me how to say my name, only hear it. But again, you didn’t teach me how to write either.

Leave a comment